Old Reviews – Up.gif

  Royal Solaris – Los Cabos   Maria ~ New Jersey

July 2009

Arrival: July 2009
Upon our arrival at the airport our representative was waiting for us, he took us straight to the resort, he was very nice and helpful. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greated by Bob which tried to pressure us into the time share, we just told him we were not interested and asked him to take us to the front desk where we got our key room. You have to be firm and just say NO to the time share. The front desk staff is helpfull and they answer all your questions.

Rooms:
Our room was clean and there was plenty of towels in the bathroom, the maid was very nice she did a wonderfull job cleaning our room. There is a mini refrigerator with bottled water, beer and sodas.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakast had enough variety to choose from, if you go after 8:30 you have to wait on line to be seated, they are short staff in the morning. Lunch was good. Dinner at Marco Polo was good, my only complaint is some nights the buffet is at the theater, after you eat you stay and watch the show I was not happy with that set up. Service was very good everybody is very nice and helpfull.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I was disapointed with the beach the water is not like cancun or Riviera Maya, the ocean is colder and very rough, sometimes you can swim but not too far, there is also jelly fish in the water. Also the vendors set up on the beach in front of the hotel, it becomes anoying when they come over to sell you stuff, but they are cheaper than town you just have to bargain with them. There is an adult pool which is more relaxing, the other pool is larger but is more for families with children and it does get crowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a taxi to Cabo san Lucas and the water taxi to Lover’s Beach where we went snorkling, that was very nice.

Other Comments: If you are a couple or single person this hotel is very family oriented, so expect to see lots of children.

Top of Page

  Royal Solaris – Los Cabos   Dennis ~ Wash DC

December 2008

Arrival: Dec 12-19 2008  First of all arrival was cool but upon driving up nothing about Royal Solaris that jumps out at you. We were taking into the lobby and seated and offered something to drink. Most resorts don’t offer they have a drink awaiting you upon arrival. The person Geraldo was quick to go over the resort however toward the end he basically begged for 20 dollars to ensure we would listen to his time share presentation. I was turned off from this point. I have never had this type of begging from pandhandlers in DC for change. I just got to the resort and already you want more of my money and you have not earned it!!!

Rooms:
The room was basic. Beds were hard like most reviews say but after drinks it does not matter. Shower heads out of date. Only a shower in our room and a basic hotel look that’s it. We were given a key lock for our safe and was told the digital was for members only. I was not comfortable because I wondered if they had extra keys to my safe. The tv was basic and a remote with no back. I’m not petty but these things should not be overlooked by staff. I left tips for maids and person for fridge but no extras on beer or towels. So much for that!the spa is nice weight room basketball court etc. And a heated jacuuzi.

Restaurants and Bars:
2 real marco polo and the other I forgot the name. One italian and the other mexican. You have to have reservations for both and if its full your stuck with only one buffet which may not have what you like. The food at the two restaurants is limited portions and you can order more but to have to go through all this I was expecting more.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are ok and beach is too ruff for swimming. I will give it to them the grounds are very clean. Pools are sometimes heated.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I was so turned off by the pressure from good old geraldo I just chilled on the premises exploring.

Other Comments: I have been all over and I do not recomend this if you have been doing a lot of travelling to all in clusive resorts. For a first time its ok. I expect a lot more so to me it was worth the price but I would never return. 1.Tacky pressure to buy time share 2.Some activities were for members only which excluded the majority which are non members 3.Very basic selection of food no changes or seafood 4. Pool entertainment at high school level 5.Rooms are out of date hard bed

Top of Page

Royal Solaris – Los Cabos Vera

March 2007

Hello!

We returned from a trip to Cabo (2/3-2/10/07). Our first trip to Cabo (have been to Puerto Vallarta, Acapulco,Riviera Maya on numerous occasions). Just wanted to comment on our experience at the Royal Solaris Resort. We booked our trip through Apple Vacations. The resort was spectacular, food was excellent. We opted to upgrade our room to oceanview (for $140.00) which was worth every penny. The first night was a bit cool (by Mexican standards) so we left the door open to our balcony and could hear the surf, great way to fall asleep the first night of vacation. The staff was accommodating. The airline lost our baggage for the first two days but we were given great information of the nearby “Mega” which had everything we needed to bridge the gap until our luggage arrived. We had excellent weather, sunny every day, temps in the 80’s, nights were cooler with temps in the 60’s but very comfortable. We ventured into Cabo on our own (taxi-van was $10/pp roundtrip). Our driver dropped us off at the “mall” and picked us up the same place at the agreed upon time. The “mall” was an overpriced, high-end outdoor mall. Nothing too exciting there, so we ventured into the marina area. We spent the whole day walking around (as we didn’t have our luggage anyway) but never figured out what the “draw” to Cabo was all about. It seemed dirty, with trash strewn all over the place. We were glad to get back to the resort and we spent the rest of the week around the resort and the town of San Jose. The bird estuary was a bit of a disappointment in that there had been a recent sewage leak (?) into the waters. The birds were plentiful, but the odor was a real turn-off. The nightly shows were OK, we have been to so many and they kind of blend into one another..no complaints about anything-the rooms were nice, housekeeping staff was excellent, mini-bar stocked daily, beach chairs readily available ( I always changed my spot and never had trouble finding a new place-you could choose chaises by the pool or chaises under the palapas on the beach), food was plentiful and a nice variety was offered daily. A very relaxing vacation.

A few down items:

1) Apple Vacation has a promo running with this resort that you are entitled to a $15.00/pp per day spa credit . This credit is NOT cumulative (only $15.00/pp max credit per day) and there are some services offered at the spa that you cannot use the credit on. This is not clearly stated when you make your spa appointments.

2) Time Share-because Royal Solaris has a time share component to it, there are people everywhere that want you to listen to their “spiel” about time shares. If you have 3 ½ hours to give up (not the 90minutes they say) you can make $100-200 dollars, if you are interested in making some money on your vacation

If anyone is interested in discussing further, please email me at deaco78@fast.net. Thanks!

I always read the reviews and believe they are a good background when researching a resort.

Top of Page

Royal Solaris – Los Cabos Talia ~ Toronto, Ontario

July 2006

6 of us traveled to Los Cabos the first week in May 2006 (we were there for cinco de mayo!)

The Resort –The resort was very clean. Beautiful gardens and walkways. We had adjoining rooms, which was fantastic, we faced the street, but the view was wonderful: mountains and palm trees etc. We were able to watch the sun set from our balconies, which allowed for some really nice photos. We were very impressed with the resort.
The resort was within walking distance to a super mall with a food court and a Wal-Mart type store called mega, this was great, we were able to buy snacks and pop and booze there. There were a few boutiques as well to do some shopping. Walking into San Jose del Cabo wasn’t too far either.

Food & Drinks – The food was very good. The pool snack bar always had nachos, fresh guacamole and salsa, and fountain pop you could serve yourself. Breakfast was great, bacon, eggs, omelets bar, waffles, fresh fruit. At dinner there was always something good pasta, salad, grilled meats, fajitas. Even our pickiest of eaters found something she liked. The booze/drinks were delicious. Our fave drink was called a Bushwhacker, it tasted like a milkshake.

Nightlife/Entertainment Staff – While there is not a bar/lounge/club on site, the Entertainment staff will take you into Los Cabos to do the bar scene twice a week, plus there’s a tour you can book that will also take you into town. We loved the Cabo Wabo Cantina (Sammy Hagar’s bar) the best, the live band was great. The staff was great, we got to know them by the end of the week and it was sad to say good-bye. The live shows they put on were excellent, dancing etc. Very well done.

Tours Lovers Beach/The Arch – You must do the boat tour to Lovers Beach and the Arch. It’s amazing to see all the wildlife (sea lions and Pelicans resting on the rocks). Just make sure you take some gravol or Dramamine, we all did, but a few on the boat didn’t and they were sea sick.

ATV-ing – What a rush! They take you through the desert, along the beach; it’s the best way to see Cabo.

Would we go back – oh yes! The whole week we were dreading going home because we loved the resort and the city so much!

Top of Page

Royal Solaris – Los Cabos Margaret from Metro Detroit, MI

March 2005

Visited this resort Feb. 2005. Do not expect a 5 star. It is no more than a 3 star. Pros: Nice beach that you can walk safely on forever. Overall kept clean. Good cocktails. Beautiful drive along the corridor to Cabo San Lucas. Nice walk to town of San Jose del Cabo. Cons: Not an interactive kids club. Needed to request everything everyday for your room (towels, glasses, Kleenex, etc.). Toilet plugged often. Below average food. High school quality entertainment. Evening entertainment often consisted of karaoke in the bar. Rooms were about as plush as a Motel 6. Overall – would not return.

Top of Page

Royal Solaris – Los Cabos Glenda — Canada

March 2003

We just arrived back from a week at the Royal Solaris also and couldn’t agree more with the last review from Judy. Everything she expressed was how we felt. There wasn’t really any one thing we would change except perhaps a bit more live music around the dinner hours. Extremely clean and very well managed. Highly recommend to anyone who has the opportunity to visit it.
Top of Page

Royal Solaris – Los Cabos Judy

February 2003

Just got back from a week at the Royal Solaris at Los Cabos Mexico. We did a last minute vacation so got a good price, but even if we had paid the regular brochure price we would have been satisfied. Our only complaint was that we had a few clouds one day – yes the weather was fabulous! We have done alot of travelling and have seen lots of resorts in various parts of the world.

Check in – We were greeted at the airport and shown to our bus – everything was quick and efficient. Check in at the hotel was quite quick, and unlike other situations where you get the best rooms if you arrive earlier, our rooms had already been allocated and we were in a different location from the main checkin, so I believe it was a fairer process.

Resort – The resort itself is very well done, and very clean and well maintained. The water in all the taps is purified, and we had no problems (including our 2 year old). The pool is nice (and heated!), and there are ample chairs both around the pool and on the beach. The only annoyance are people who arise early in the morning and save lots of chairs (in this case 10) in their chosen prime location and then never use them all! The beach is very nice, and no seaweed, but as mentioned in the the other review it isn’t for swimming, although I did see some people playing in the waves. Our room was always very clean and we had no complaints. We had an ocean view room and it was wonderful to leave our door open at night and listen to the waves crashing up on the beach – we had no problem with bugs, but we were on the third floor.

Food – The food at the resort was very good, and there is no excuse for going hungry here. There was almost no seafood (we had shrimp one night), but there was always fish. Breakfast always included lots of fresh fruit, and a good variety of hot dishes, as well as omelet stations and fresh made waffles. Lunch was either at the open air restaurant or the snack bar. Unlike many other all inclusive we have been too, your use of the a la carte restaurants was not limited and you did not have to make reservations. We had not problem as we always ate early, but some people did have to wait, but if you have no children and are happy to swill tequila, beer etc. I don’t think it’s a huge problem, especially when you’re not paying for the booze. The only complaint (this is pretty petty) is that most of the restaurants were enclosed. There was a grill buffet dinner pool side one night which was excellent, and it is a shame they don’t do it more often.

Entertainment etc. – The entertainment staff definitely earn their wages here. There was always something going on. The nightly shows were very good, especially since they were also done by the entertainment staff. The childcare was very good and the kids seemed to enjoy it. They even have their own pool completely separate from the main area.

Overall, we were very pleased with our vacation, and would highly recommend this resort. The other thing that was nice was the fact that you could easily go for a walk outside the resort. San Jose Del Cabo is about a 15-20 minute walk, and there are a variety of things to do close to the resort (including golf). We have been to the Mayan Riviera twice and once you are there you must either take an excursion, shuttle, or taxi to get off the resort, so it was nice to be able to explore on your own. As far as I know it is safe, and I didn’t hear of anyone complaining of any problems in this regard.

Time Share, peddlers – we were warned about time share people always hassling you – I was never approached by anyone at the resort or in the town (San Jose Del Cabo) which was a pleasant surprise. You can attend a presentation at the resort if you wish and I was told by one person that wasn’t that long and not high pressure. There are people selling goods on the beach at the resort but they are not pushy and you approach them so it was never a problem.

Also, this is a great web site and every useful – THANKS!

Top

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.