Playa Coco Reviews – Cuba Hotels – Playa Coco

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Sort by: Date posted  | Date of visit| User rating

31 – 40 of 55

Had two weeks at the Oasis in November 2008. This truly is your traditional island paradise and is fantastic, so long as the weather holds up. Hammocks on the beach miles of white sand, tons of wildlife. The facilities are great and the staff amazing. The rooms and bed were enormous and the food was on the whole ace, particularly the Japanese restaurant. On the down side the mozzies were a bit of a nightmare (as the whole island is one giant mangrove swamp surrounded by admittedly magnificent beaches), the hotel might not also be 4 star in terms of British standards (we heard quite a few complaints while we were there but we were happy) and when the hotel is full the whole place does seem quite over crowded. We were there while Hurricane Paloma hit and the staff were brilliant during this time. In fact the British were the only holiday makers not evacuated and this was when we had the best time as the place was deserted (and the hurricane didn’t hit our part of Cuba anyway!) Be careful though this place is seriously isolated and takes some time getting used to. Brilliant for that sunny island paradise holiday but don’t expect to much brilliant nightlife!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

A group of us arrived at the oasis playa on the 27/8/08, had 10 brilliant days and then hurricaine ike hit cuba, throughtout this dangerous time the staff were brilliant, they ensured that all the holiday makers had hot and cold drinks and food – were taken care of, kept informed of what was happening, the staff worked for 72 hours with just a few hours sleep and still remained cheerful friendly and helpful dispite not knowing what had happened to their own families on the cuban mainland they all pulled together and worked for the benefit of all of us staying there. special thanks to the catering staff who worked under extremely stressful conditions with little sleep and to the animations team who kept everybodies spirits up with games and crazy shows to the bar staff who always smiled and had a friendly word A BIG THANK YOU

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

We were 10 people in this hotel from August 4 to the 11 2008 and every thing was perfectly beautyfull and clean. Weather was in the 40 degree very warm that what we we’re looking for. Cuban people that work there are fabulous specialy Jean and Yusmilba at the beach bar we’re absolutely friendly and really enjoining their work, again I’ll would recommend this place and I would return there. Dan du Quebec

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

It was really wonderful, a fantastic surprise because the quality of the hotel, the staff and the natural environment. We will come back. We recommend it for couples that loves peace, walking on the beach and to feel alive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

We went there oct 2005, nov 2005 and april 2006 we had a great time the people that work there are great and will serve you to the best of their ablities. The food is ok but you have to relize that it is a 3rd world country and they don`t have everything we have The beach is great and there is not much to do but relax if you want do do anything you go on the trips . If you are expecting to get waited on like you were the only person there don`t expect that as the cubans try to treat everybody equal

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Just spent 2 weeks of sheer joy at this hotel. The Staff were very helpful honest and always happy to greet you with a smile. we made a few new cuban friends while we were there. The main dining hall has a selection of food to die for. The complex itself was excellent and any problems were delt with swiftly. The japanese restaurant is a must if you do go. Can’t wait till next year!
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

We stayed here in July/Aug 07 for our second wedding anniversary. It was paradise, been to the Bahamas and other places but this was the best. Staff were brilliant. Beach fantastic. In fact no complaints whatsoever – hope to return next year.

Say hello to Ray (real name cardore) he is so cool!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

I’ve just come back from Oasis Playa Coco Hotel (04.09.07) and am so sad to be back…i enjoyed my 2 weeks out there..made loads of friends..the reps wer wikd and I learnt the cuban conga..the disco was always quiet but we made it enjoyable and loved going swimming late at night and chaching the cows and horses. The crabs and moskitos was a nusisence but I loved the food and the beach was truely amazing…the room smelt abit but was always clean.. the people were so freindly and I loved chilling in the lobby bar trying all the cuban cocktails..yummm! I feel they need more entertainment as it did get quite boring just lazing around. I realy enjoyed the italian restaurant and the toko was a fun experience..overall I loved cuba..was an amazing holiday..will be coming back soon..xx
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

28/08/07. JUST RETURNED FROM THE OASIS PLAYA COCO HOTEL. WE WENT ON THE 9/08/07. I READ THE REVIEWS OF OTHER PEOPLE BEFORE WE WENT AND WAS SLIGHTLY CONCERNED BUT DECIDED TO GO WITH AN OPEN MIND. MYSELF, MY HUSBAND AND TWO SONS AGED 13 AND 15 HAD A FANTASTIC TIME AND CAN’T UNDERSTAND WHAT ALL THE COMPLAINING WAS ABOUT. THE STAFF WERE OUTSTANDING, AND THE SERVICE WE GOT WAS EXCELLENT,THE REP, THE MAIDS, THE WAITERS AND WAITRESSES, THE TOUR GUIDES IN FACT EVERYONE EVEN THE GARDENERS WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND VERY HELPFUL. THE JAPENESE RESTAURANT IS HIGHLY RECCOMENDED BUT THE ITALIAN AND THE BUFFET RESTAURANT ARE ALL QUITE GOOD AS WELL. I HOPE THAT ANYONE VISITING THE OASIS HAS AS GOOD A HOLIDAY AS WE DID, AND DON’T LISTEN TO THE MOANERS. TRY THE TRIPS OUT THEY ARE GOOD FUN AND EDUCATIONAL AND HELP YOU UNDERSTAND MORE ABOUT CUBANS AND THEIR WAY OF LIFE. HAPPY HOLIDAY !!!!!

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Old Reviews – Playa Coco

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.