Oasis Tulum – Mayan Riviera, Mexico Hotels – Debbie's Caribbean Travel & Resort Reviews



Links, reviews, photos to help you with your Caribbean vacation planning    Resort Maps
Caribbean Resort & Travel Links  Temperature & Weather   print popular Spanish Phrases
Caribbean Weddings  Traveling with Kids Reviews  Caribbean Spas  Villas & Apartments
Caribbean Tours & Activities   Scuba Diving    Resort Photos
For USA and Canada destinations go to Debbie’s Hotel Reviews for the USA & Canada
Welcome to Debbie’s Caribbean Travel & Resort Reviews. Help others make informed choices by

sending a review of your Caribbean vacation to: reviews@debbiescaribbeanresortreviews.com

Please read our review guidelines and disclaimer. Mexico Home Mexico Resort Reviews Index Mexico Links Mexico Tour Reviews
Mexico Villas Mexico Wedding Information Mexico Scuba Diving

Oasis Tulum   ~  Reviews Posted – 5
Oasis Tulum Annette, Janice and Rick

July 2005

We were on our honeymoon at the Oasis Tulum resort in Mayan Riviera Mexico. We have never been to an all-inclusive resort, or a resort at all in that matter. I have read some other reviews (that are not so great) but my husband and I felt that it should have been rated as a 4.5 or 5 star resort. The entertainment was awesome, the food was good, it was buffet that we mostly ate. The only thing that was okay was that they served prok, chicken, and beef every night but just prepared differently, so we got a little tired of pork, chicken and beef by the end of our stay. We did tours all week. The ruins in Coba (with a pyramid that you can climb), Xhel-Ha (where you can swim with the dolphins), ATV jungle tour adeventure, which was great and you can hold spider monkeys, tarantula’s and snakes, visit and swim in underground Cenotes. The resort itself was always very clean, the staff very helpful and fun, the pools always clean, they love receiving small gifts (we brought a suitcase full of Canada souvenirs). Our room overlooked the back of the hotel which was all jungle, quite amazing. We met a lot of very nice people and exchanged e-mail addresses with one couple. The bartenders are amazing and very fast at making the drinks. The entertainment was great. Live bands, bingo, music trivia, water aerobics, etc. find out the rest for yourself, it was great!!! We ended up having to stay and be bused over to Merida because of Hurricane Emily. Merida is also a nice little city. Better to see Merida though when there is no hirricane coming. But all in all our trip made our honeymoon memorable and we will visit Mexico again. 🙂

Top of Page

Oasis Tulum Annette, Lauren and Catherine

May 2005

Just got backfrom a 1 week stay- wish it had been 2!
The problems in the reviews from Jan 2005 have been resolved, I would agree with the review from Dawn of March 2005. My daughter (20) neice (28) and myself had a great time, the resort has really pulled together with the updates, management is everywhere fine tuning the service.

Activity crew were fantastic, lots to do or for those who want to be active and for those who want to relax, it is easy to do. You can be involved or not. This area of the beach is great, sand and snorkeling great. The evening activities include everyone, great fun. We can hardly wait to go back.

Top of Page

Oasis Tulum Dawn, Tamara and Heather from Oshawa Ontario, Canada

March 2005

My daughters (ages 19 and 23) and I (49) just returned from an absolutely wonderful trip to the Oasis Tulum, Riviera Maya, Mexico. This is a fabulous resort, a bit smaller so you get to know others (staff and guests) and vice versa. The staff is wonderful, the resort clean, the grounds well kept and beautiful, the food delicious with lots of variety (2 buffets and a beach bar that serves hamburgers, hotdogs, fries) and the fun GREAT. The food at both buffets was wonderful with great variety, always hot, lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and lots of desserts. Make sure you have an omelet. There is also plenty of fresh bottled water in coolers available at both bars as well as self serve alcohol and non-alcohol drinks. You can safely brush your teeth and shower with the tap water but don’t drink it because it is very heavily chlorinated and would make you ill. There are two sides to this resort (the other is the Oasis Akumel that books out of Italy) but we were free to use any of the facilities on either side. The beach here is one of the nicest I have ever seen. It is not crowded; the sand is clean, fine and the water crystal clear with mostly sandy bottom and shallow. You can take bread out to the water and feed the very friendly fish. There are 2 large pools, both with swim up bars in a lovely setting and 2 Jacuzzis on the beach. There is a lot to do or you can choose to do nothing at all. The activities staff consisting of Hugo, Noraley, Juan Carlos, Juan Carlos, Carlos (Charlie), Sergio (aka Ricky Martin from Tulum) are fantastic, hard working and very entertaining young people. They organized activities every day, including snorkeling tours, cooking lessons (with the best chef in the Mayan Rivera, Charlie), dance lessons, bingo and so much more! They also organized all of the nightly activities and got everyone up dancing (Juan Carlos is an amazing dancer). And the bartenders that keep everyone happy (Edelberto and Raul). TEQUILA! The bar is the place to be at nights with lots of entertainment, music and fun for all ages. And by most nights it was quiet by midnight at the latest. The resort is also very close to Playa del Carmen, the ruins at Tulum and Coba and Xel-Ha. (all worth seeing). Tipping and or small gifts are very much appreciated. We can’t wait to go back!

Top of Page

January 2005

I stayed at the Oasis Akumal/Oasis Tulum (depending who you talk to) from Dec. 19 to Dec. 26 2004. I would not recommend this resort to anybody. This was my first (and probably last) all inclusive resort trip.

I stayed there with my two sisters, my brother and my mother. We were in rooms 202 and 201 which overlooked the beach bar. A bar that we were told would close every night at 6:30pm. They would play loud music during the day but we didn’t think that was a big deal because we were told they would not have music at night. There were several nights where the loud music played until 1am. I was there to sleep and relax and enjoy the beach not listen to bad music blasting into my room. We asked to move rooms our entire week there but the front desk staff was completely unhelpful in our request to move. We were told that there were no open rooms. However, large groups of new guests came in every day. We asked them to turn it down or move the location of the speakers to the other side of the bar. (I actually did this one night myself.) The staff lied and said it would never happen again. But, it did almost every night. I think they actually didn’t know what was going on in the rest of the resort. (Half the resort is run by the Vera Club and is geared towards Italian travellers). I felt like a second class citizen because I wasn’t Italian. Ridiculous. I for one didn’t understand the segregation and was quite offended by it. The Vera Club is quite organized and vocal where as the international side has no advocate speaking for them. I spoke with a higher manager of the resort and she said that the inter-resort politics is quite difficult to deal with.

The food isn’t that great either. There are two buffets (one which you can’t step into unless you are Italian or have made a reservation). When we started our stay there we were allowed to eat in both buffets. But, they changed this halfway through didn’t inform people until it was too late to make a reservation for that evening. The restaurant opening times kept changing without proper notification. The restaurants are understaffed and really crowded. We would come into the restaurant and have to wait for quite awhile for our table to be cleaned and for cutlery.

We had three leaks in our room and from what I understand we were lucky.

Most of the staff is fantastic. The international entertainment staff works really hard and for quite long hours. The bar staff is great. (Their drink making skill isn’t that great but they are very friendly and helpful.) The cleaning staff is also really overworked. The second last day of our stay was Christmas Day and apparently there were only a couple of cleaners working for a huge resort with a large new building. Our room didn’t get made that day because of all the angry new-comers without rooms.

I do NOT recommend this resort to anybody. It was quite an upsetting experience overall. Take your money elsewhere where they treat their staff and customers with a little more respect.

Top of Page

Oasis Tulum Steph ~ Canada

January 2005

We just got back from Oasis Tulum . The Oasis Akumal is right next store but only books Italian vacationers.

It is advertised as a 4 star but I’d rate it less. They were just completing the construction when we got there. Some said that the pool was just completed days before we arrived

We stayed in the new section (F). When we arrived at noon , they were still trying to complete our rooms and did not get our room til 6pm. The room looked nice but was far from being complete. There were lights that didn’t work , our sink leaked , it took 4 hours to get someone to fix our toilet, and lack of hot water.

No in room safe (as advertised) , no alarm clock ,no blow dryer and the sliding door would not lock .Our view was out the front door construction garbage and a ditch with water and out the back a big white water pipe and standing water that looked like a swamp.

The food was not the greatest, it was cold , there was a poor selection , and it was almost impossible to sit at a table that had a clean table cloth. Most times there was no silverware to eat with and had to get up and find it yourself

The buffet on the Italian side was far better than the Tulum buffet. We snuck in for a meal one evening and it was very good . We couldn’t get reservations at the A la Cartes because they were closed a couple nights and then completely booked the remaining…. I heard we didn’t miss much.

The advertisement for this resort claims 24 hour snacks- that is completely false … there were many times in the day that both the restaurant and the grill would be closed or in the late evening you couldn’t get anything to eat. A couple times I asked the bartender where I could get food and he was nice enough to go to the kitchen himself and get me a plate of little sandwiches .

The entertainment staff were very friendly and fun…. Look for “Antonio Banderaz” and “Ricky Martin” we became friends and hung out with them most of the trip. Some of the bartenders were great too. The beach was beautiful and the resort was quiet. It was a laid back place if your looking for some peace and quiet.

This resort may get better once they have completed all their renovations and construction. It definitely has potential if they do something about the food, some staff, and figure out if it’s a shared resort with Oasis Akumal or not . Most times the Italians had their “side” and ”our side” and the rest of us had “our side”, leaving many people upset that they couldn’t have more variety. The week we went there was nothing but complaints from fellow vacationers, everyday there was someone new yelling or reporting their displeasure to the front desk or tour rep.

Top of Page

Disclaimer – Please Read

Last updated: July 29, 2005

home  |  contact us  |  advertise  |  add url

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.