Old Reviews – Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach)

  Grand Coco Bay   Suzanne ~ Ottawa, Canada

February 2009

Arrival: Jan 31 to Feb. 14
Very organized, on time, greated at resort with nice cold glass of champagne, everyone very friendly, check in and general instructions of resort done during bus ride from airport to the resort which was a great touch

Rooms
Very clean, very spacious, comfortable beds, rooms nice and cool to greet us after a hot and long journey. The maid service was excellent, could not ask for more and they went out of their way to be cheerful and courteous to us.

Restaurants and Bars
The main buffet is great. They rotate their meal schedule on two week rotation, making our two week stay very interesting. Every night, the main buffet offers a specific theme to their menu. The waiters, from breakfast to late at night, were always pleasant and cheerful even after working long hours. They litterally run to accomodate your every requests.

The two speciality restaurants were also excellent. We ate at both the Italian and Mexican twice each and both experiences were fantastic. The special care and attention is admirable. The food presentation, at the buffet and at both speciliatly restaurants should be commanded. You cannot walk away hungry as you feel you need to try everything it is so good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
There are miles and miles of white powdery sandy beaches in both direction. My husband and I walk for two hours in both directions and never came to the end of the beach.

The pool is very clean, but then to spend most of our days at the beach since we already have a pool at home.

During our stay, we saw many ground keepers working about ensuring everything was in top shape, the greens watered daily, bushes trimed, the flowers prunned, sand returned to the beach after windy nights, etc…..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
During out stay, we took part in a few tours: Catamarin at the Isla de Mujeres, Coba and Xcaret. They were all excellent. We were also walking distance to Playa del Carmen and its 5th Avenue.

Many activities were organized on the resort to which we chose not to participate in. We were on vacation and our down time at the resort was truly our own. The activity staff asked for your participation, but you did not feel pressured into taking part. They are there for you if you want to participate.

This resort has the one of the best if not the best night shows we have seen in the last 15 years of our travels. They are good, well organized, done with taste and very intertaining.

We do not have small children, but they did also have a program which seemed very good. They lady in charge of this program has a lot of energy and enjoys her work with the children. Nice to see.

Other Comments
We would like to thank all three Go Travel Reps (Rachel, Julie and Lisa) to which we had the honour of meeting during our two week stay. They were very informative and always very pleasant to chat with.

One must remember that this resort is not a brand new complex. The air circulation could be improved upon (when A/C was on, cigarette smoke from other rooms would infiltrate into your own, a bit of mildew on the ceiling) This is Mexico, not Canada, a few minor set backs are to be expected. If one thing could be changed is that one entire wing or floor be dedicated to smokers instead of just every room. This air circulation problem might be improved.

My husband and I would both highly recommend this resort to anyone. The food, beach, waiters (Ceasor, Bernado, Juan Charlos, Emilio, to name a few) bar tenders made our stay very pleasurable. If you would like to see pics or get more information, please feel free to contact us.
bsbp.beehler@sympatico.ca

Top of Page

  Grand Coco Bay   Francine ~ Gatineau

January 2009

Arrival: January 21 to 28
Arrived at hotel around 11 p.m., no welcome drinks.

Rooms:
Spacious, clean comfortable. No bottled water at our arrival, they could not accomodate us the same night, after asking 4 times the next day, finally got some around 4 pm.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet offers very limited choice, (6-8 trays), prepared in advance and not kept hot. We have even experienced shortage of specific items. Service (wine/water/coffee very poor, we ended up getting our own as did other guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach but not enough chairs. Pools nice and clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities on the resort, limited to spanish classes/beach volley ball/ dance lessons. Not a lively atmosphere. We had the luxury of 3 shows during our 8 day stay. Instead, they focuss on shows off the resort at 50$ US. As for tour, the Chicken (ruins), small bus instead of big buss, late, no breakfast, lunch served at 3pm; we were rushed, bus ride rough.

Other Comments: Beautiful small resort. Our 1st time in Mexico, not our last but definitely not at this hotel. Wake up call requested not fulfilled.

Top of Page

  Grand Coco Bay   Renee ~ Nova Scotia, Canada

April 2008

We just returned from this resort, we stayed there from March 28th-April 4th.

Very nice resort, just the right size. It was a true 4 star resort. We were very happy with the selection of food and drinks. We would have liked another à la carte choice as there were only 2 to pick from: Mexican and Italian. These à la cartes were both good. Entertainment staff was excellent, they really enjoy what they do. All kinds of activities to choose from: Water Aerobics, Pool Volleyball, Beach Volleyball, Step Aerobics, Water Polo ect…

This resort is very close to downtown, we expected it to be a bit more secluded like a lot of resorts seem to be. This wasn’t a problem for us at all, because once you were in behind resort walls you forget about everything else. The construction going on nearby never caused a problem for us, we never heard it at night at all. The resort is on the beach and is just beautiful.

Only thing that was kind of a pain was to get a chair on the beach under a palapados (not sure how you spell it) I was at the beach at 6:30am each day and struggled a bit to find a chair under a shaded area. People must be up at 3am reserving these chairs!

We would have liked a washroom closer to the beach also. But these are all minor things, we really liked this resort. We like trying different resorts, so we probably won’t return to this one. In any case, we would highly recommend this resort and miss Mexico already!

Excursion: We did the Mayan Extreme Adventure, half morning was exploring the Mayan Ruins, part 2 in the afternoon was repelling, snorkeling and zip lining. We had an awesome time at this one, and the price was 96 US per person great deal!

Top of Page

  Grand Coco Bay   Happily Married in Mexico

February 2008

I wanted to take a moment and tell you about our experience during the week of February 1st – February 8th, 2008 at The Grand Coco Bay Resort in Playa del Carmen.

We planned our wedding at this resort through their wedding planner, Mr Jorge Ceballos. He was amazing!!! He quickly responded to every enquiry we had through e-mail prior to our arrival, and was available at the resort whenever we needed him. He organized and arranged the wedding location on their beautiful beach by cleaning an area, putting up chairs and the justice of the peace.

We had seen mixed reviews about this location, even as recent as November 2007. I am here to speak the truth and set the record straight.

Our group of 45, which included our parents and our friends children had an amazing stay at The Grand Coco Bay Resort!

1. The rooms were all very clean after the maid finished each days work. 2. The pool was very clean, and there were lots of available chairs each day. (It was a little cool, but with the heat is was a nice relief) 3. The food in both the Mexican and Italian a la carte restaurants were excellent, and availability was wide open for bookings each night. 4. The buffet food was hot, and lots of selection each night as they arranged a different theme every day. (Sure breakfast was similar every morning, but still very good choices) 5. The staff were all VERY friendly, and available. (The pool bar needed more staff on the pool side, but that was corrected) 6. The staff at the Kids Club did an amazing job each and every day. 7. The beach was a beautiful white, soft sand that went on for miles. (You could walk to the famous 5th Avenue in about 45 minutes) 8. The wedding plans were all taken care of by Jorge, and executed without a flaw. (Wedding pictures by Julio Paredes) 9. Lots of hot water, and 43 of 45 rooms had excellent water pressure. 10. Lots of clean drinking water around the resort to fill up water bottles to take back to your room. 11. Bartenders were courteous and helpful. (Sure, if a huge line up then there was a bit of a wait) 12. I didn’t actually take in any of the nightly entertainment, so I can’t offer a comment. (I have been to many others in the past, and all I can say is that they try really hard)

13. There were no water leaks, or sewage smells reported by any of our guests during the week. The only problem was that some wanted a king size bed, and got 2 double beds.

Anyway, I just felt the need to express our satisfaction and joy at The Grand Coco Bay Resort.. Maybe you’ll give it a try someday!

Happily Married in Mexico

P.S. Try to bring a phone card, because it costs $5US/minute for a phone call back to Canada.

Top of Page

December 2007

We stayed at the not-at-all-Grand Coco Bay from November 16 to 23, 2007. This place doesn’t even come close to a four-star rating for anything, and least of all for public safety. Let’s start with the little annoyances and work our way to the really serious public health problems.

The Not-So-Good:
The first night we got there, we spent two hours and three trips to the reception desk trying to get them to fix the patio door that wouldn’t lock, and the front desk staff just couldn’t understand why two women might feel uncomfortable staying for a week in a room with a non-locking door!! Besides that, the room was okay if you don’t mind the staff raiding the mini-bar all week, and the lack of hot water in the shower (or any water sometimes…). If you are a younger couple or a group looking to have fun on the resort, you can forget it! The drinks are all made with syrup! If you order an orange juice here, you get Tang! If you are looking for any kind of nightlife here, forget about that too! The outdoor bar is only open during the day (till 6:00), and the so-called “pool bar” is really just four cement stools in the kiddy pool that are, of course, occupied by the kids! The only entertainment here is the lobby bar, which looks and feels like a cross between Cheers and the bar in Desperado! Antonio walking in with his guitar cases in hand would actually have been a highlight!

The Bad:
Danger: your kids may drown in the ocean!! We would not recommend this resort if you are looking for a safe place for your kids. The animation staff was fantastic (creative, energetic, and totally devoted to the kids and adults alike), and the pool facilities were clean and well looked-after, with lots of equipment for the kids to use. However, the beach was not safe at all, as the resort doesn’t bother to hire a lifeguard! Instead, they just fly the red flag 24 hours a day, regardless of the water conditions, so that if someone does get into trouble, they have no liability whatsoever, and no one nearby who’s qualified to help. A case in point was one swimmer who was stung by a jellyfish. After a few minutes of her shouting for help, her husband managed to get the attention of a security guard who advised him to go the buffet for some vinegar to put on the wound! We were surprised to see that even the local public beach adjacent to the resort had both a lifeguard posted and the appropriate flag flying each day.

The Really Ugly:
We were completely shocked one evening as we ate, to find water dripping through the ceiling light fixtures right into the buffet salad bar! The staff’s solution was to take a large white dirty bucket and put it up on the ledge beside the salads while diners continued to stream into the place completely unaware of what was happening to their food!! Imagine our total disbelief when we found out a few minutes later from some other travelers that in fact the upstairs restaurant had had to be evacuated because the toilets were overflowing into the dining room, and that in fact the substance that was cascading into the downstairs buffet through the electric wiring was sewage!!!!! It thus came as no surprise to us when, on the very last night of our stay, my friend came down with food poisoning and spent eight hours crouched on the bathroom floor vomiting while I packed her suitcase. Finally, the next morning, she managed to keep something down with the help of a prescription drug from a fellow tourist!! Thanks to this nasty little parting gift from the hotel, my friend endured the bus ride to the airport and the return flight to Ottawa suffering from dehydration and complete exhaustion.

In conclusion: if you are looking for a safe enjoyable vacation spot, look elsewhere!!

Top of Page

  Grand Coco Bay   Monique ~ Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Coco Bay, Nov. 16-23, 2007. This was our fifth trip with GoTravelDirect. As usual, everything from departure to arrival was perfect. As we came out of the airport, two Reps were waiting for us with four buses to take the passengers to the various hotels.

From the start, if you know that you are not staying in a five star resort and that you are not expecting a five star surrounding and treatment, you will not be disappointed.

When we arrived at the hotel, we had cocktails waiting for us and the check-in was fast. The front desk employees already had everyone’s room key waiting. All we had to do is give our names.

Our room was on the third floor and it was nice and clean all the time we were there. We had a king size bed that was quite comfortable, large closet with mirror sliding doors. No leaky faucets in the bathroom and no smell of mildew. The lady’s who cleaned the rooms were always available, during the day and evening. Our room was always cleaned early in the morning. We never had a problem.

This is a small family resort. The week we were there, there were families with young children. The employees in the dining room always made sure that the small children had booster seats or highchairs available. They were most accommodating. Even though there were many young families, we were never bothered as there seamed to be a place for everything and everyone and the kids had their own pool area.

The children and teenagers were very taken with the entertainment staff. There were many activities during the day and the staff made sure that the kids had a great time. The staff also made sure that the kids were involved during the evening entertainment shows, which they thoroughly enjoyed and made the parents quite happy.

The food was not bad at all. Everything we ate was good, delicious, and plentiful. Since this is not a big resort, you will not find 20 different types of salads and 10 different choices of hot meals. The deserts were plentiful and very good. The only thing missing for breakfast was bacon, but that’s ok. There are two restaurants; Italian and Mexican. Even though the Italian was good, the Mexican was very good, including the service. We were impressed!

The beach was beautiful. I must say that this hotel is located on one of the best part of the Playa Del Carmen beach. To the left, there is a beautiful stretch of beach at least a mile long with no hotels. Great for long walks on the beach. To the right, the beach is also beautiful but busier as you get closer to the town of Playa Del Carmen and to the pier to Cozumel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Grand Coco Bay. We also came to enjoy and value the smaller relaxing resort atmosphere. However, if you are looking for a bit of action, the town of Playa Del Carmen is about a 15-minute walk or a $3:50 taxi ride. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. We went twice at Senor Frog and had a great time.

As for the staff, we did not have a problem. Everyone was nice and pleasant. I guess being nice goes both ways… if you know what I mean. The pool and lobby bartenders were great! Great sense of humour and very accommodating when it came to mixing the kinds of drinks we wanted.

Would we go back to Playa Del Carmen? YES. Would we go back to the Grand Coco Bay? YES. For quality/price/location, it met our needs.

TIPS: Bring you own facecloths. When leaving the beach at the end of the day, exchange your beach towels for the next day. Make sure you put your valuables and important papers in the safe (minimal cost).

TOUR TIPS: Shop around. Tour operators at the hotel will charge you more and use some of the same tour companies that sell tours on Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen and they’ll pick you up at the hotel. We visited the Mayan Ruins in Tulum. AMAZING! The views from the cliffs overlooking the ocean are incredible. Don’t forget to wear you bathing suit because at the end of the tour you can swim in the ocean. The beach is small but INCREDIBLE.

REGRETS: We had to leave after one week. There’s lot’s to do and lot’s to see. Maybe next time, we’ll do less shopping and more sightseeing.

Top of Page

  Grand Coco Bay   Karen ~ USA

December 2007

We recently spent a week at the Grand Coco Bay in Playa Del Carmen. This was our over 30th trip to Mexico so we have quite a few resorts to compare to. This is the first time we have ever been totally disappointed in a resort. We travel as a group and are not too particular and can have fun just about anywhere. The resort was very empty even though it was over Thanksgiving. The property was fairly small and the beach was nice. I was extremely surprised to see that the staff was not friendly at all. This is so unlike any other resorts we have stayed at in Mexico. We are all big tippers and very generous and friendly. We love Mexico and that is why we go three times a year. The bathrooms at the pool did not flush well and smelled so bad we had to go to our rooms to use the bathroom. Buffet food was very limited, but that is to be expected at a small resort. We had a problem getting our room cleaned a couple of times. We went to our room from the pool around 4:30 to get cleaned up for dinner and our room was not cleaned. After 4 calls and 1 1/2 hours later they finally brought us towels. We skipped the cleaning.

The worst part was that two people from our group had cell phones stolen from our rooms. The hotel management did not want to listen to us, but finally said they would investigate. They left us sitting in the lobby for over 2 hours and kept saying they would be right back. Finally they told my husband (I left) that they didn’t believe I ever had a cell phone with me. I just got my bill and I have over $150.00 in charges until I got home and canceled it. It was used right up to that minute. It was used continuously every day. I was not asking for them to accept any responsibility, just to be aware that they have a thief on their staff! I thought they would want to correct that.

There are so many wonderful places to stay at a reasonable price, and so many wonderful people working at other resorts, I would never go back to this one!

It appears that reviews are getting worse at the Grand Coco Bay as time goes on.

Top of Page

May 2007

Firstly, I can’t say enough about how kind and wonderful the staff are at this hotel. They all work exceptionally long hours and deserve as much gratitude and tips as anyone can handle. The hotel is beautiful, but may be a little small and dull for the hardcore partiers. I’m 26 so I don’t know whether it’s a good thing or not that I didn’t mind the peace! Our room was on the second floor, facing the pool, opposite the entertainment. Aside from the noise from the entertainment late in the afternoon, we had no complaints. Besides, the entertainers are so funny it didn’t bother us at all. I still refused to learn the merengue though – sorry to the entertainer who tried!

On the down side, we got sick! Sick sick sick! So did 90% of the people on our bus to and from the airport. We think that the hotel had a bit of bad luck and some virus got into the food. One receptionist didn’t seem to want to log the fact that so many people got ill, however her colleague wanted to take note and we filled in the form they use to monitor the situation.

The beech is beautiful, by far the best I’ve seen in that part of the world. The pool was great too, loads of chairs available and an awesome swim up bar.

As for activities away from the hotel, we had a great time at Chichen Itza and the Pirate Cruise. Chichen Itza took about 2.5 hours on the coach and the Pirate Cruise is about 45 minutes away, so it’s up to you if you feel like travelling, but we’d recommend it because they are both so worthwhile. Alternatively, the town is so close by (about 15 mins walk). It’s well worth a look.

So as for Grand Coco Bay, it’s great if you want a quiet break, but don’t mind eating off the resort.

Top of Page

Grand Coco Bay Donald ~ Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts

March 2007

Our family just returned from our second stay in 3 years at the Grand Coco Bay Resort. There are just a few things that were not as strong as the first stay. It appeared as if the restaurant staff was a little undermanned. Service was a little slower. The entertainment staff was very good but females need to be added to that staff. Three years ago there were 3 or 4 females. This year there was only one and she was never around.

The nightly entertainment was good. On most nights entertainers were brought in from outside the resort and their shows were colorful and enjoyable. The weather was beautiful and the hotel staff very professional.

Three years ago I would have given this resort a 4.8 on a scale of 5.

This years rating slipped a little to a 4.5.

If you are looking for a very relaxing, enjoyable, fun stay in Mexico that won’t break your bank, I highly recommend the Grand Coco Bay.

Its beach, location to 5th Avenue, and small style feel make this resort a great find.

We plan on returning in the near future.

Top of Page

Grand Coco Bay Céline ~ Ottawa , Ontario

February 2007

We just got back on Saturday Feb. 24 after spending a wonderful week at the Grand Coco bay and since a review had not been posted for almost a year, we thought it was time one was added.

Travel Agency: Go Travel Direct from Ottawa. We will never travel with them again unless they make changes to their travel reps in Cancun. Very badly received at the airport – waited 1.5 hours for a bus to take us to our resort and had the same problem getting back to the airport.

The Resort: This was our first vacation to Mexico, Playa del Carmen and we enjoyed our time there and will be anxious to go back next winter.

This is a small but very nice, very clean and quiet resort that provides most services a larger resort would have.

Rooms are nice, clean and include either a king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony and face either the pool or beach area. Our room area (2124) was a bit noisy at night or early morning when the staff would be coming by with carts but the noise never lasted very long. The toilets seem to be a problem everywhere at this resort – flush problem. This problem would have to the biggest issue we had with the resort. Everything else was great.

Restaurants – since this is a smaller resort the buffet does not provide an enormous choice however what they had was good. We found there was always a good selection of salads, cheese/meat, bread bar, hot meals, desert, etc… There where theme nights such as Mexican, Italian, International, Caribbean, Oriental. We were impressed with the quality of food taste especially for the oriental. There are 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian and Mexican and they were both very good. Keep in mind we do not expect gourmet meals from these resorts however we are impressed at how well we eat. In my opinion, I did not have to cook it, so I ate and enjoyed! There is also a snack bar open from 11 to 6 every day serving what we consider "junk" food like burgers, hot dogs, fries, quesadillas, nachos, etc… Everything here is deep fried. One thing we really enjoyed was that the buffet restaurant is set right on the beach. A great place to sit early in the morning with a cup of coffee and watch the sunrise.

Bars – there are 3 bars. One near the beach, one at the pool (in the pool also) and lobby. Service is OK – When it is busy, like anywhere you have to wait but most times it was fairly quick. The drinks are reaalllyy goood! A must is the margaritas. Corona on tap is not so bad either! They have international drinks such as Baileys, Disaronno Amaretto, Frangelico and a few more.

Entertainment – this is where they need to improve. The night shows were pathetic. Some of them looked like they were ad-libing. During the day they do have a few games and activities and although they try really hard to get people to participate, if you do not want to, they are not pushy.

Beach – awesome! 5 out of 5. The sand is so soft, white and the water was just the right temp. A lot of chairs but you may have to get up early if you want shade under a palapados.

Pool – the pool is very close to the beach and stretches the length of the property towards the lobby. There are also 3 jacuzzis at the base of the pool area closer to the ocean.

Playa del Carmen – a short 15 minute walk to the right will bring you to the peer where you can turn right and 2 blocks down you are on Playa Del Carmen’s famous 5th Ave. Here you have an amazing street that goes on for at least a couple of km and provides tourists with many shops, bars and restaurants. Well worth the walk. You can also get there by taxi from the front lobby of the hotel. If you walk on the beach past the peer, you will see results of the last hurricane. The resort (yellow buldings) is the Gran Porto Real and this resort used to have a great beach but it is now gone.

Bottom line: nice resort where you can rest, eat well, drink and take it easy for a week or 2. We would go back anytime.

Top of Page

Grand Coco Bay William ~ USA

March 2006

FunJet Vacations
Rating: Excellent. Every bit the 4 rating

Room: Very clean and spacious. Huge double closet with sliding mirrored doors. Plenty of hangers and a few shelves. The refrigerator is located inside the dresser cabinet, which leaves 3 drawers for clothing. Each of the nightstands has a drawer with open space below. Table with 2 chairs and a TV on a stand.

There are 4 sodas/juice. No Beer. They came every few days to check on the inventory.

Large bathroom with makeup mirror, hairdryer, shampoos, lotions and soap. Washcloths provided. Thick bath towels. No bottled water in rooms. We brought our own bottle and filled it at the restaurant.

All rooms had a view of either the pool or ocean.

Pool: The hotel is built in a square horseshoe shape. The pool is set in the center and runs the entire length of the hotel. 4 ½ deep with a ledge in various spots so you can sit on the edge.. There is also an area of the pool where the loungers can sit in the pool. Kiddy pool at one end at wading depth.

The pool bar is located about at mid point of the pool.

Three Jacuzzis located at the ocean end of the pool along with showers. Very clean pool and pool area. You would see staff cleaning the pool daily, as well as testing the water and cleaning the lounging area around the pool.

Dining: Excellent dining. The buffet offers a large variety of foods for breakfast and lunch and features theme nights. Caribbean, Mexican, International, Italian, Gala, Oriental, and BBQ. Appropriate dress is enforced including a cover up over swim suits.

There is a snack bar near the pool bar that offers burgers, hot dogs, chicken, pizza, sandwiches, fries, and ice cream. The nice part of this is that you order your food and it is made at that time, it is not pre-cooked and left to sit under a heat lamp. Condiments are added by the staff per your order.

The Mexican and Italian restaurants are also excellent. Same day reservations are required. With seating beginning at 6:30PM and hourly there after. Both require men to have long pants and shoes on. This is strictly enforced.

Beach: Best beach in the area by far. You can walk the beach going north for quite some time/distance before coming to anything. Going south, a 10 to 15 minute walk on the beach will bring you to the first pier in Playa del Carmen. Two blocks from the pier is 5th Avenue. You can also walk to the second pier via the beach. The area between the two piers is overcrowded, smells of fish, has boats tied one after another so you have to step over all the ropes, seaweed is all over. Many of the restaurants/bars and hotels were damaged by the hurricane and appear to be either closed or of limited use. The beach at Grand Coco Bay is a beautiful sandy beach with a nice swimming area. Yes there are boats anchored just out front of the hotel but do not interfere with going in the water. The boats are out further. The view is not blocked and there was very little activity with the boats. Most sat anchored all week.

There was never a problem getting a beach chair or a chair by the pool. The palapas were occupied early but people were always on the move so they would open up at various times.

No vendors on the beach which was a real treat.

The activities staff was great. They let you know when a new activity was starting but were never pushy about getting you to join.

Beach towels were obtained by exchanging your towel card for a towel. They did allow you to exchange a used towel for a clean towel at the end of the day (based on availability) so that you could go to the beach early. The towel/activities desk did not open before 8AM.

Bars: The sports bar at Grand Coco Bay was damaged by the hurricane and they are working hard to re open it. The bar by the dining area and the pool bar were open all day, and the lobby bar was open for the evening. The lobby bar was surrounded by tables and chairs for guests to sit and visit. The service was superb.

Shows: The show started at 9PM each evening and lasted approx. 30 minutes. The show was in the theatre just off the lobby. Good variety with the entertainers being the activities staff. It was set up much like a dinner theatre with tables placed in between chairs in the first few rows. Waiters came to take drink orders during the show.

Check In: Efficient staff make check in a breeze. Check out was equally quick.

Other notes: Extremely clean hotel, even the bartenders wore hair nets. The restrooms by the pool/beach were cleaned constantly. The restaurants and common areas were very clean with constant maintenance going on. 2/3 of the restaurant wall was glass and it was always being cleaned. Someone was constantly walking around on the beach picking up guest glasses.

Guards were constantly watching over the beach area so “non-guests” did not stop and use the chairs. Occasionally “non guests” did stop and were quickly asked to move along.

Plenty of taxi’s available. We were told it was $3.00 to get a taxi to town.

There was a water taxi you could take over to Cozumel. Tickets could be purchased at either pier in town.

The staff always had a smile and were helpful. Most understood the English language. The service we received was awesome.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is conveniently located near Play del Carmen, is clean, and has an awesome beach. Great food and a wonderful staff.

Top of Page

Grand Coco Bay Bonnie ~ Lexington, KY

August 2005

Eight of us spent our family vacation July 14-21, 2005 at the RCB- 3 teenagers and 5 adults- and we all had a wonderful trip, despite Hurricane Emily! The resort was beautiful and well laid out, food and drinks were delicious, the beach was fantastic, and we were all very pleased with our 4 rooms. I have never in my life seen a staff so dedicated and hard working as at the RCB. Before and after the hurricane they were great, and during the evacuation they were even better. The amazing staff stayed all night in the shelter with us (even though some of them weren’t required to) and stayed awake all night keeping the guests safe and sane. I was amazed at the effort that was made to ensure our safety and comfort in a crisis situation. They provided good food and plenty of drinks, along with pillows and towels. They gave us updated information on the progress of the storm and went way above and beyond the call of duty to care for everyone. These same employees worked all day the next day(after being awake all night!) getting the hotel back in shape- even had a hot breakfast ready when the guests arrived back at 10am from the shelter. The clean up effort was incredible and they had the guests back in their rooms by the afternoon, despite all rooms having had several inches of water. Melina of guest services is a true angel along with Jorge Martinez and Miguel Lopez- just to name a few of the best employees I’ve ever encountered anywhere. We love and appreciate their true kindness and caring for others.

We all also loved the location of the resort- it’s nice being able to walk back and forth to Playa. In closing. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and I would return in a heartbeat (even during hurricane season!).

Top of Page

Reef Coco Beach Paul ~ Ontario, Canada

July 2005

I was looking to book a place for our honeymoon, and we wanted to pick a place with a nice beach and one that wasn’t too big. We were looking for a place that we could really relax, but have options to go exploring if needed. We picked The Reef Coco Beach because it seemed to fit the bill, was rated “5-star” by Sunquest and was really attractively priced.

To preface my review, I have to say that overall we had a very good time. We really enjoyed this first trip to Mexico, and want to return, as there is so much to do. My previous resort experiences included trips to Cuba (SuperClubs Costa Verde, and SuperClubs Jibicoa) and DR (SuperClubs Puerto Plata), and I’ll try to make comparisons to those resorts.

We choose a Monday flight package and did a stopover at the Holiday Inn Select by the Toronto airport. They offer one night’s stay, and you can park your car on their lot for up to 16 days, and it only cost us $95.00 via our travel agent. As an aside, this hotel is very nice, and I would recommend this route for anyone coming out of town for an early morning flight.

Our flight was uneventful, other than SkyService seating being very cramped. The line through Mexican immigration was lengthy, but I got the impression that they want to keep a good flow as they kept track of how long people were waiting. Customs was a breeze when we got the green “PASS” light.

After about a hour wait for our bus to leave, and 45 minute drive to Playa del Carmen, we arrived at the resort. The check-in was very quick since our bus only had 6 people.

We asked if they had us down as honeymooners, and were told that we hadn’t been listed as such. I gave them a copy of our marriage documentation, and we were supposed to get some sort of bonus, but it never came.

Our room (2263) was nice upon initial inspection, however come night time the reality of thin walls and an adjoining door set in. We could hear everything including the toilet flushing, people walking, the TV (at low volume) and even a can of soda opening. I disagree with the other reviewer stating that the noise is the fault of the neighbours. For a “5-star” resort to exhibit this type of design flaw is terrible. Luckily we were able to get moved into one of the upper corner rooms (2425) which suffered from no view, but had no noise problems. We were lucky that the resort was not overbooked, but this could have really been a disaster.

Summary of problems with the hotel:
(Major)

1) Noise problems in adjoining rooms. If you like your privacy BE WARY, since many of the rooms have this issue. Otherwise, immediately ask for a non adjoining room, although you’ll probably get stuck with a very poor view. 2) In room safe is available for a cost of $3/day. Although minimal, I think this cost should be included in the cost of the stay. It is somewhat disheartening to pay extra for a feature that is standard at many other hotels. The initial code (2556) that they gave us didn’t work in EITHER of the rooms, and it took them over an hour to come by and open it (both times). 3) Lack of iron/ironing board in the rooms. You need to wear some nice clothes to the restaurant and the lack of ironing equipment makes this difficult. Twice I tried to get one from the front counter and the first time it never came (after two phone calls) and the second time I was informed that they “ran out”. 4) Never received “honeymoon” bonus

5) The towel exchange counter has bad hours (closes at 5pm??) and upon one visit at approx 4pm, I was informed that they had “run out”.

(Minor)

1) Lack of alarm clock or other time telling device in the room. I asked about this at the front desk and they said “don’t worry, we’ll wake you up”, however on one occasion, they missed the wakeup call. After talking to other visitors to Mexico however, it seems that this is a common trend at most resorts…. 2) Upon one cleaning of the room, we were left with only one large towel. (minor)

3) No hot-tub, or at the hot tub was being renovated??

To be perfectly honest, this resort was a disappointment as a “5-star”. All of the other resorts I had been to had been rated “4” or “4+”, and in general, I did not experience any of the above issues. I think this resort should be rated “4” or “4+” tops.

In the positive side, the beach is probably the best in the area, however the view is somewhat spoiled by all of the docked boats. The food was fantastic; much better than Cuba and DR, both at the buffet and in the restaurants. This is a small resort however, so the buffet selection was smaller than I had previously experienced. The staff, especially the wait staff at the restaurants and the bar staff at the pool, are incredible and very friendly, as well as the animacion gang.

Off the resort, Playa del Carmen is a nice shopping town, however I found that the prices are quite high….in many cases higher than back home. It is extremely important to shop around as the prices very wildly! It is approx 15-20 min walk via the beach, or a $3/5min cab ride.

We visited Xcaret one day and decided instead of the hotel tour ($104 USD), to take a cab and risk it ourselves. We were very glad we did. We saved a bit of money ($10 cab ride, $59 USD admission), but mainly we were much more flexible. We were able to eat at the restaurant of our choosing (we at right on the ocean beside the dolphin aquarium). After the show, we caught a cab without even waiting. We were back to the resort before the other people even left on their busses.

The next day, I did a dive trip from a small operation in town. The exact same 2-tank dive offered at the resort for $90 USD, cost me $55 in town (plus cab fare).

I booked a trip to Chichen Itza, again in town for $45/pp, and we went on Friday. Unluckily, we ended up on a van that didn’t have working A/C. This trip is not worth it unless you are a real history buff. The pyramids are truly interesting, however they are 3 hours away from Playa del Carmen, so 6 hours in a hot van is not my idea of a good time. After that day I needed a full day to recuperate from heat stroke and dehydration. Even if we had a better bus, I wouldn’t recommend that trip. Luckily, we had two days to spend at our resort hanging out at the beach and the pool.

Overall, we had an excellent time in Mexico, and I look forward to going back. We didn’t have time to visit Cozumel, Cancun, Xel-Ha, etc, etc, so there is definitely lots we want to do still.

I wouldn’t stay at Reef Coco Beach again, mainly because I like to explore other resorts, but also for the fact that I think it is falsely claiming to be a 5-star facility. The problems with the room were enough for me to seriously caution anyone considering this resort, unless they will guarantee you a private room (doubtful). The lack of basic amenities such as a clock and ironing equipment (not just in the room, but general availability!), paying for bottled water and the room safe, and never receiving our promised “honeymoon bonus” left a bit of a bad taste in our mouths. However, we did receive an excellent price on the trip, so I wasn’t too surprised that the hotel wasn’t on par with some of the more expensive resorts.

The important aspects such as the bed, food, beach, pool and staff were great however, so if you get lucky with the room you’ll enjoy it there, especially if you get a good deal on the package.

I think Sunquest and Debbies is doing people a bit of a disservice rating this place a “5-star”, however I don’t have other Mexican resorts to compare against, but by my other travels, it does not rate any higher than the 4/4+ resorts I’ve stayed at (all “Superclubs” mind you).

Hope it helps!

Top of Page

Reef Coco Beach Dave ~ Cincinnati, Ohio

May 2005

We just got back from The Reef Coco Beach Resort. We were there the week of May 12 thru the 19th. It is a very nice place to stay. We usually stay at huge resorts like the Pelatium or Iberostar. The Reef Is alot smaller and alot less walking. The town of Playa Del Carmen is very close , a three dollar cab ride. We went into town every nite for dinner and drinks. It’s nice to be able to leave the resort because it gets very boring just hanging around at a resort every day. I would surely stay there again. The staff were all very freindy and the resort is well kept. We took the ferry to Cozamel one day. Cozamel is a very nice day trip. We went over on the DelMar ferry. Just be careful how they tear your round trip ticket when you go over. They tore mine the wrong way and I had to buy another return ticket to get back. I don’t know if it’s a scam or it was a accident. I would recomend The Reef Coco Beach to everyone.

Top of Page

Reef Coco Beach Matt ~ Toronto

March 2005

Background
We are a couple in our early forties with no kids. We have been to the RIU Palace on two previous occasions, so I will try to make comparisons where I can.

We chose the Reef Coco Beach because of its isolation and because of its smaller size. I wanted to experience the resort while it was still new and before more development occurred in the area.

Flight
We flew with Skyservice out of Toronto. The plane was small and the seats are too cramped, but overall the service was good.

Airport arrival
Cancun airport was extremely busy. We stood in a line that snaked outside of the building and we did not move for the first 15 minutes. Thereafter things got going and we somehow managed to get fast-tracked to the immigration desk, where our passports were quickly stamped and we were waved on our way.

We got the green light, zipped passed the timeshare ghouls, and made it to our bus. I let a guy carry our bags and gave him 50 pesos for his troubles.

Hotel arrival
10 minutes from the hotel we started steeling ourselves for any attempts to send us to the Reef Playacar because of supposed “overbooking.” I had read all the appalling stories about this practice and was ready for the onslaught. Be polite. Be firm. Speak no Spanish. And above all, do not allow them to send us anywhere else.

So imagine my surprise when the front desk clerk offered us a choice of rooms. He first offered us an ocean-front room for an extra U.S. $25 per day. We took a pass, and instead went with room 2359, which is on the southern arm of the horseshoe-shaped Reef Coco Beach, and in fact has a partial ocean view anyway.

To the best of my knowledge, all rooms at the resort face into the horseshoe, except of course the ocean-facing ones.

Room
We were given the choice of a king or two queens. We went with the one with the king, and the bed had the typical Mexican hardness. But I found it to be surprisingly comfortable. We have a pillow-top at home, and previously at the RIU Palace my back ached a bit after the first few nights. At the Reef Coco Beach, all was fine from the get-go.

The rooms are nicely appointed but not quite in the class of the Palace. There is a closet with plastic hangers, shelves, and a safe. Except that our room did not have a safe. I guess someone made off with it. The front desk clerk gave us a key to a safety deposit box at the front desk, but we never used it. We just put everything into our suitcases and then locked them when we needed those items to be secure.

The bathroom is brightly lit, more so than at the Palace, especially over the tub/shower. There’s no bidet, but there is a vanity mirror attached to the wall right next to the hairdryer. Several toiletries are offered by the hotel, including soaps, shampoo, and body lotion. Being not too particular, I used them, but ladies will of course use their own stuff.

There is no seating area as there is at the Palace, but there is a TV with video and audio inputs, good for those of you who want to check out your photos or videos on the big screen. I foolishly left my cable at home.

Also, there aren’t a lot of spare electrical outlets as far as I could see – something to think about for those of you who have to recharge camera or camcorder batteries. I made do with the outlet in the bathroom.

The balcony or patio or whatever is on the small side, and doesn’t have the great chairs nor the telescoping clothes line as at the Palace, but it’s no big deal. In fact, the Reef asks you not to hang your clothes out on the balcony; there is a retractable clothes line over the bathtub for this purpose.

Our view straight ahead was on to the pool and the restaurants, while to the right was the ocean. A perfect spot.

The floor of the room is ceramic tile. There is a chest of drawers with 3 drawers on one side and the mini fridge ensconced on the other.

The fridge is stocked every other day with canned Coke, Coke Light, Fanta, water, and Modelo Especial. As many of you may know, the Reef charges U.S. $1 to fill up the water. I found it to be no bother at all to take care of the water situation myself; each morning I would go down to the Miramar restaurant and fill up the bottles myself. But make sure you buy a few 1.5L bottles; the 500 mL ones are too small.

Our door had cuckaracha-proof weather-stripping on the bottom, which kept the little buggers out – I only ever saw one anyway, and he was out on the balcony – but man did it squeal when the door was opened.

Lastly, the walls are thin, and this is exacerbated by the doors that can be used to connect two rooms together for a large family. Noise is not a problem for me, but it is for my wife who is an extremely light sleeper. So please do us a favour: the next time you’re in one of these places, think twice about pacing the floor with your high-heels on. Think twice about slamming the door as you leave and enter your room. And please think twice before you blast your television set for the purpose of having background – foreground? – noise. You’re not at home and you should try to be considerate of others.

The hotel grounds
The hotel is located on Coco Beach, and at the moment is close to some of the poorer parts of town. I found this to be actually quite fascinating. Whereas in Playacar all is well-kept and organized, in this neck of the woods you get to see how many of the Mexicans live. And it is fascinating. If you get the chance, spend some time in the area – my experience is that it is safe – and pump some dollars into the local economy by buying a drink or two at a local store or by eating at one of the roadside grills just up the road.

The Reef Coco Beach is a horseshoe-shaped building right next to the Zubul Reef Beach Club and sits I guess right on top of where the former Coco Beach Club used to be. The lobby is in the part of the horseshoe that you would grip if throwing a horseshoe, while the rooms are in the arms. OK, I’m not a horseman.

Roughly speaking, it is a three story resort with approximately 200 rooms; in some places there is a fourth floor because of certain architectural aspects.

In the middle of the resort lies the pool, which has a meandering shape. At the western end near the lobby is a shallow kiddie pool. Near there is the part of the pool where the loungers sit on a ledge in the pool. In roughly the middle sits the swim-up bar and a bridge. The most eastern part of the pool is near the beach and the restaurants – it has a ledge for sitting and keeping cool.

The grounds are modestly decorated with native flora. If you’re the type that demands all marble all the time, lots of exotic animals, and a jungle-like atmosphere, then this is not the place for you. But if you like a nice clean environment and don’t necessarily need all that other stuff, you’ll be pleased.

Amenities at the resort include a gift shop, a beauty salon, a gym, a tennis court, and a basketball court.

The biggest difference between the layouts of the Reef and the Palace is that there’s a lot less walking to be done at the Reef. I’ll let you decide if that’s important.

The beach
The beach at the Reef Coco Beach is beautiful and all that you’ve come to expect of Playa Del Carmen. In fact, I will venture to say that the beach is superior to those of Playacar and certainly so of the beach in the main part of Playa Del Carmen.

I found the sand north of Constituyentes to be finer than that farther south. It just seemed more powdery and more inviting than what I have experience before in Playacar. And the beaches in Playacar are damned good, so that’s saying something!

As for erosion, there was evidently a lot of it going on in the area at the time of our trip, the worst apparently occurring at the Royal Hideaway. Up north, there was little evidence of it. There was a 1 foot drop by Mamita’s Beach Club; I’m not sure if that qualifies as erosion or not. It was at its worst in front of the PlayaDelCarmen.com web cam; in that location, there was a good four foot drop.

And at the Reef Coco Beach, there was nothing but a beautiful gentle slope into the water.

There are palapas at the resort, both couple- and family-sized, with lots of loungers. The towel game was being played to some extent, but like at the RIU Palace, we never had any trouble finding good seats by the pool or on the beach. I sometimes wondered if the resort was full or not.

The sand is raked some mornings, and having snorkelled through most of the roped-off area, I can report that that ocean floor is mostly sand. The water is crystal clear on calm days, not so on windy days. Speaking of wind, it was unusually windy on the first two days before things calmed down.

As most people know, boats moor just outside of the roped-off area that defines the Reef Coco Beach swim area. I did not find them to be an eye-sore.

Beyond the boats is a reef; I never ventured out there as it looked like a bit of a swim. On one particularly wavy day there were actual surfers out front of Zubul, and I think they were bailing out before they reached the reef. Seems like a smart move.

The beach to the north of the resort is free of other buildings. This is the area, particularly on Sundays, when the local families come for a fun day out. And fun they have. I saw friends whooping it up in the surf, boyfriends and girlfriends getting close in the water, kids making sand castles, parents partially burying their kids in the sand, and above all, lots of food and drink. Every adult had a beer – mamas, papas, tias, tios, abuelas y abuelos, and no one got drunk nor were there bottles strewn about the place. I think every cranky neo-prohibitionist has something to learn from the locals.

If you like walking on the beach, this is the place for you. There are abandoned – at least I think they’re abandoned – huts on a point far up the beach to the north. And to the south there are the neat little cabins at Shangri-La Caribe, as well as Mamita’s Beach Club and other sites on your way south to the pier at the Porto Real. Both walks are 100% sand all the way.

The guests
I’d say the guests were mostly American or Italian, with a few of us Canucks sprinkled in, and perhaps a few Brits mixed in as well.

I saw a gamut of actions and reactions, from a guy who handed the bartender an American one dollar bill with each drink order, to the guy who thought that the bartender with a limited grasp of English would understand if he just repeated his order three times. People are people.

Animacion team
I’ll come clean up front: I don’t like animacion teams. I like to relax on holiday, and I don’t liked being bugged nor do I like being assaulted by tacky announcements and music.

So I’m quite happy to report that the Reef Coco Beach had just about the best Animacion team that I’ve ever encountered. They had the goodness to leave you alone if you indicated you didn’t want to participate. And I even ended up participating, a thing I rarely do, because they were so engaging.

But really the best thing about this group of people is that they had great personalities. I found them to be very amusing and entertaining, especially the head guy from Chile, whose name unfortunately escapes me.

These guys and gals should train all other Animacion teams, in spite of their odd predilection for wearing outrageous wigs.

Restaurants
OK, not quite up to RIU Palace standards, but that’s OK with me as we like to dine in town as much as we can.

The Miramar restaurant is the main buffet restaurant, and there’s enough food there to keep you from starving. There’s not nearly the selection as at Don Julian’s at the Palace, but I think you’ll probably find enough to keep you happy.

At breakfast, there’s the usual fare: made-to-order eggs, waffles, pancakes, fruit, meat, cheeses, cereals, juices, yogurt. The one thing I missed were the blended fresh juices that they have at the RIU Palace. The bread also wasn’t quite as knockout good as at the Palace. No champagne either.

The Italian restaurant, Rosinella, is upstairs on the second level next to the Mexican restaurant. You must make reservations that morning in the Miramar. I was up early most mornings, so this was not a problem.

I give the Italian restaurant a good rating. I had a pasta dish that seemed authentic, and not like the pasta interpretations that you’d get at the buffet. The Tiramisu however was not that good. Avoid.

The Mexican restaurant, Sabor, was also good. I started with some tamales, and then moved on to a chilli and chicken dish that was good but didn’t inspire.

We ordered dinner from room service the first night as my wife was sick. They have a limited room service dinner menu, but it was nice to have that option available.

To my mind the best restaurant by far was the snack bar by the pool, El Palmar. Wings, ribs, rotisserie chicken, burgers, fries, pizza, sandwiches, guacamole, tostadas, etc were all on the menu. It was nice to be able to take your plate back to wherever you were sitting, be it by the pool or on the beach.

Room 2366
It became apparent pretty quickly that there is a special beach-front room on the third floor of the southern arm. From the beach, the balcony looks three times the size of others, and the windows are different too.

We passed the door to the room each day going to and from the beach. My curiosity was piqued by the fact that the room has its own door buzzer outside.

Finally one day when the maid was making up the room, I poked my head inside and saw what was there: a large room that seemingly is set aside for Reef management and/or other VIP’s.

There is a large living room area that is bigger than any of the other rooms in the resort. It has a couple of couches and a biggish – 32”? – TV. There was also a desk strewn with papers.

A large kitchen is just off the entrance with a stove and a full-sized refrigerator.

And although I didn’t see it, I presume that a bedroom existed adjacent to the living room area.

Best of all, there’s a Jacuzzi on the balcony. Going to town
The farthest north I had ever made it on previous trips was the intersection of 5th Avenue and Constituyentes, and now here I was well north of there.

5th north of Constituyentes is very interesting. Near the hotel are parked the construction trucks of labourers. A little further sit a block of stores, hotels, and restaurants, all previously unknown to me. There is a definite Italian flavour to the area; in fact, I believe this is the Italian end of town.

I think it took me about 15-20 minutes to walk from the hotel to 5th Avenue and Constituyentes, which is a little bit faster than the time it used to take me to walk from the RIU Palace to Juarez.

We generally paid 30 pesos for a cab to 5th Avenue and Constituyentes. In fact, it was generally 30 pesos to go anywhere. 5th and Juarez? 30 pesos. Chedraui? 30 pesos. Once I paid 25 pesos to get to Constituyentes, and once I paid 40 pesos to get back from Juarez, but they were the exceptions.

Sadly we only ate a few times in town. We had lunch at El Oasis on Calle 10, and we had the shrimp tacos, each costing 12 pesos. We had dinner at Ajua and Limones and enjoyed them both.

My wife made some purchases at her favourite knick-knack store in town, and as well bought some silver necklaces. I was on the hunt for Mexican soccer shirts and managed to snag two.

Beer
I am an appalling beer snob. The Reef Coco Beach has Corona and – thankfully, at least by Mexican standards – Negra Modelo on tap. As I said, the mini fridge in the room is stocked with Modelo Especial.

I looked all over town for Casta, Mexico’s only micro-brewed and certainly best line-up of beer. It was readily available in 2002, but to my knowledge has disappeared from the area. Even Covi didn’t have it. I should have asked them if they had any Noche Buena left over. Hmmm.

Other drinks
I’m not one for liquor, but as far as I can tell they stock top-shelf booze at the Reef Coco Beach.

Although I have to say that once at dinner in one of the specialty restaurants I accepted the offer of a Grand Marnier. The drink was nice, but it wasn’t Grand Marnier.

Also, the bartenders at the RIU Palace make a very good Mono Sucio. The bartenders at the Reef Coco Beach could learn a thing or two from them.

Shows
We only went to one. I admire the hard work that goes into these things, but there’s a lot I want to see and do at night. But again, I tip my hat to the performers, many of them who put in a full day as part of the Animacion team before they go on stage. I don’t know how they do it.

Banking
As a Scotiabank customer, one of the beautiful things about Playa Del Carmen is that there are to my knowledge two Scotiabanks in town, both with ATMs. One is at 5th and Juarez across from the bus station, the other is at Calle 10 and Constituyentes. It’s just like banking at home, except it’s in Spanish and you receive pesos.

If I’ve done the math correctly, I was not charged any service fees, probably because I’m a Scotiabank customer and I maintain the minimum balance that keeps me free of service charges at home.

A couple of days before the trip, the exchange rates were these:

1 CAD = 8.88566 MXN
1 MXN = 0.112541 CAD

Side trips
We didn’t take any this time. Here are the prices from what Sunquest had on offer (all prices in U.S. dollars).

Chichen Itza – $75 Coba – $85 Tulum & Xel Ha – $103 Jungle Crossing – $99 Xcaret – $75 Swim with the dolphins – $125 Catamaran to Isla Mujeres – $89 Captain Hook Pirate Show – $85

Bar hopping in Cancun – $50

Gory hotel details Miramar continental breakfast hours: 6:30 – 7 am Miramar regular breakfast hours: 7 – 11 am Miramar lunch hours: 12:30 – 3 pm Miramar tea time: 5:30 – 6 pm Miramar dinner hours: 6:30 – 10 pm Miramar late snack: 10 – 2 am (I think this actually is hosted at the El Palmar snack bar) El Palmar snack bar hours: 11 – 6:30 pm Tobacco & Ron Lobby bar hours: 6 pm to 12 am Azul 48 pool bar hours: 11 am to 6:30 pm Papo’s Sports Bar hours: 5 pm to 2 am Arrecifes theatre hours: 9 to 11 pm Rosinella’s seatings: 6:30, 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 pm. Pants and closed shoes for men. Same for the Sabor Mexican restaurant. Pool open from 6 am to 11 pm. Towels have to be returned by 5 pm. Tennis court open from 8 am to 5 pm. Night tennis can be had for U.S. $3 per person. Water sports from 9 am to 5 pm. Bicycle rentals are from 9:30 am to 12 pm, and again from 3 to 5 pm. The gym is open 7 am to 9 pm

There are two internet-ready stations largely unseen just off the lobby. The charge is 20 pesos for every ten minutes, and you need to have coins, not bills. I found it much better to make the 10 minute walk to El Point on 5th Avenue where the charge is 5 pesos for 15 minutes, 10 for 30, 14 for 45, and so on.

Flight home
The Cancun airport was a bit of a disaster going home, not surprising since we were getting into the Spring Break season. Many people had to stand for lack of seating. Our flight left 1 ½ hours late, but not to worry.

It’s always sad leaving but we’ll be back soon. And we’ll definitely be going back to the Reef Coco Beach.

Pictures Please see my pictures at

http://community.webshots.com/user/pdc_matt1
http://community.webshots.com/user/pdc_matt2
http://community.webshots.com/user/pdc_matt3
http://community.webshots.com/user/pdc_matt4
http://community.webshots.com/user/pdc_matt5

Top of Page

February 2005

We stayed at the Reef Club 2 years ago (February 2003) and had a great time, such a great time we had family members who wanted to come back to get married there. So we returned to the Myan Rivieria and stayed at the Reef Coco Beach January 29 -February 5th. The facilities were great, the staff were wonderful, and the food was great. The activities staff worked hard to keep everyone entertained and did a great job. We celebrated the wedding, on a picture perfect day, We also celebrated my daughters birthday, The ladies in the entertainment staff organized a party complete with games, hot dogs, pizza, pop, cake and of course a pinata. It was a birthday my daughter will never forget. The weather was fantastic, we had beautiful, hot sunny days every day except for the last day there which I suppose was good, because it allowed us to pack and get ready to head back home. It was a great vacation. The town of Playa Del Carmen is a short 5 min ($3.00 USD) trip via taxi and there is lots to see and do there… Only suggestion, purchase bottles of water in town, they are less money and you can keep them in the fridge in the hotel room. Bring plenty of sunscreen, for kids, 45 may not be high enough, the sun is very strong, try min of 50…

Top of Page

Reef Coco Beach Tom & Carol ~ Manitoba, Canada

February 2005

My wife and went to this resort for two weeks from Jan.8 to Jan.22.Out of the fourteen days there,we had one day at 19 c. and one day with rain in the afternoon,with the rest of the time in the low 30,s.. We have traveled to many resorts,but this one is the best by far,as the food-beach-room service-and the Bar supply are second to none.We would recommend this Hotel to any one wanting a small hotel(200) rooms with instant access to the pool,beach or any restraurant on their property

Top of Page

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.